AHCI might improve your performance.

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

AHCI might improve your performance.

Post by tbentley » Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:33 pm

I had sub par performance with my hdds and my i7. I turned on AHCI on in the bios. My performance increase dramatically.

Here's a link how to activate in windows 7. Make sure you configure your OS first.


http://www.sevenforums.com/hardware-dev ... s-7-a.html

tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Post by tbentley » Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:22 pm

Also make sure you reinstall your cpu drivers.

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Post by enriquesilveti » Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:07 pm

Yes! AHCI improve HDD performance.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

User avatar
yr
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Post by yr » Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:24 am

Some ssd's don't support AHCI officially and could become unstable when switched from IDE. In any case, if you are trying to switch and your system is installed on an ssd, you may need to make some registry changes before you change it in the bios. I found the following guide from OCZ: http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum ... stallation
Reuven | post-production & sound-design | scenography |
website | nebula presets

Mplay
Member
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Post by Mplay » Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:38 am

When I read the topic title I thought this was some kind of * spam :D

tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Post by tbentley » Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:01 pm

lol

Yr thanks for that, im going to put a ssd in comp tommorrow. I hope that it works with achi.

User avatar
yr
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Post by yr » Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:42 am

I think you need to edit the registry only if you already have windows installed on an ssd and you are trying to switch to AHCI. If you are just adding a (non-system) ssd drive or making a fresh windows installation (after already changing the bios) you probably don't need to make any changes in the registry.
Reuven | post-production & sound-design | scenography |
website | nebula presets

tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Post by tbentley » Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:05 pm

You don't need to mess with registry. Make sure you have have ahci turned on in the bios. When you install windows will automaticaly configure for you. I set up my SSD card today and no problem so far.

Post Reply