Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
young.baws
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:27 pm

Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by young.baws » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:10 am

Hello!

I would like to know some things about Nebula Reverb version..

I'm actually using Nebula for Pre/Distortion/Coloration, and I open Nebula Reverb only for EQ's.

Since Nebula Reverb is lighter than Nebula, can I use it for compressors, and preamps & others?

Is there a significant change in the processing/sound?

For the compression, there is a "ring/whistle" kind of sound, on some sources. I've read that the developers are working on it.

Will there be an update for Logic 8 users (side-chained version)?

I'm using Nebula Pro.

Thank you very much!!

Nate

Mplay
Member
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by Mplay » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:24 pm

Well, it's actually normal for a compressor. The low frequencies hold much more energy and will trigger the compressor much earlier compared to the rest of the spectrum.
Soon sidechaining will be implemented. Then you will be able to filter out the low frequencies on the sidechain channel, so they don't trigger the compressor.

If you don't want to wait, the signal to noise 168 compressor "big" preset, which has a build in side-chain high pass, is available.

You could also split the audio into different bands and compress each separately (mutliband compression)

young.baws
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:27 pm

Re: Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by young.baws » Wed Mar 09, 2011 3:04 pm

Thanks Mplay.

I've got the DME 1968 big version. It's working very well..

I hope that the side-chained version of Nebula will be out soon. So that I'll be able to use the full potential of the Snap comp & the D*x.

So do you know if I can use Neb reverb for Pre's & others?

I know some users use Neb reverb for r2r. So I guess that I can open the reverb version for other processing than reverb. The thing is, I don't want to compromise quality.

Thanks again for the tips, I appreciate that.

Best regards,

Nate

Mplay
Member
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by Mplay » Wed Mar 09, 2011 3:17 pm

I only use the reverb version. I'm not 100% sure, but I believe all recent 3rd party libraries are made to be used with reverb version.

elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by elam » Wed Mar 09, 2011 3:52 pm

Do a little search in this forum and the old one you will find a lot of infos about that.Good luck.

young.baws
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:27 pm

Re: Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by young.baws » Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:48 pm

Alright thanks guys!

Peace!

biomuse
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:37 am

Re: Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by biomuse » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:20 pm

As far as I know, Nebula Reverb and Nebula aren't intrinsically different. One can be changed into the other just by editing and saving parameters on the Master page (load time, buffer size etc.) The two versions are included as such solely for convenience's sake.

young.baws
User Level IV
User Level IV
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:27 pm

Re: Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by young.baws » Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:37 am

I found this:

"Reverb or non-reverb version?"

http://www.nebulawiki.dreamhosters.com/ ... ersion_%3F

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10893
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Question about Nebula/Nebula R & compressors.

Post by giancarlo » Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:45 am

about sidechain, today I'll check if we can arrange a proper au version quickly, otherwise we'll release it, postponing the proper au development.

Post Reply