Links to nebula server free PC VERSION and MAC OSX (updated)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by himhui » Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:35 pm

Tried the localserver, it looks good!!
Presets loading very fast!
Attachments
Snap3.png
Snap3.png (143.59 KiB) Viewed 1284 times
Last edited by himhui on Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
97v4 /Win10 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.7/X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro

Vando
Member
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:16 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by Vando » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:00 pm

Hey, how did you do this local server /server thing?
I'm only able to get it work in my master computer.
It's installed in my slave too, but I don't know how to make the connection.

Vando
Member
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:16 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by Vando » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:23 pm

Looks like the Mode is always Simple when opening a new instance. Should it be Guru or is Guru just to see if the Server is on?

User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by himhui » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:26 pm

I fill the ip address of B computer(server) to neb3 xml file of A computer which runs the daw... and fill the ip address of A computer to the server xml of B computer ..

My daw's loading get heavier (47%) with the same project when using the server (18% cpu of the i5 M520)
Attachments
snap5.png
snap5.png (248.77 KiB) Viewed 1252 times
97v4 /Win10 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.7/X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro

User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by himhui » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:38 pm

If only with neb3free..
Attachments
Snap6.png
Snap6.png (85.41 KiB) Viewed 1247 times
97v4 /Win10 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.7/X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro

User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1207
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by TranscendingMusic » Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:26 pm

himhui wrote:I fill the ip address of B computer(server) to neb3 xml file of A computer which runs the daw... and fill the ip address of A computer to the server xml of B computer ..

My daw's loading get heavier (47%) with the same project when using the server (18% cpu of the i5 M520)
Interesting, same issue as with Sonar 8.5.3 x64
Bob
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Cubase 9.5 Pro x64 |
Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)

Sparqee
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:05 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by Sparqee » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:26 pm

Sparqee wrote:I understand the advantages of running a remote server (distributing CPU load between two machines) but I'm unclear on the advantages of running a local server. Is the local Nebula "pipe" server more efficient that running Nebula as a VST plugin from within the DAW host app?

Ok, so the advantage of the local server is that if I'm running a 32bit DAW under a 64bit OS I can use Nebula Local server to access a larger amount of RAM than the 32bit DAW can. Got it.

User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by himhui » Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:39 am

locacl server and Server together...

It's not that bad!!
Attachments
Snap7.jpg
Snap7.jpg (107.83 KiB) Viewed 1179 times
97v4 /Win10 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.7/X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro

User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by himhui » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:29 am

Can't reload presets when reopen project if memory loading over 4G....
I think that 32bit daw still couldn't go beyond the 4G ram limit in x64 OS......
97v4 /Win10 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.7/X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10928
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Post by giancarlo » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:49 am

himhui wrote:Can't reload presets when reopen project if memory loading over 4G....
I think that 32bit daw still couldn't go beyond the 4G ram limit in x64 OS......
correct. It happens for localserver and not for remote servers too. If you run out the 32 bits memory space your 32 bits daw can't work any more.


Anyway you are using way more ram than before. I remember the worst case: 1.2 gigabytes and the best case, around 2 gigabytes (even enabling the 3gigabytes switch).

Post Reply