New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
jonwb
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:09 am

New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by jonwb » Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:30 am

Hi,

Just purchased Pro Tools 10 for my Windows 7 64-bit computer. That was before I realized Nebula doesn't offer an RTAS version for the PC!

Any chance an RTAS or AAX version will be developed in the future?

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5041
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by richie43 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:27 am

jonwb wrote:Hi,

Just purchased Pro Tools 10 for my Windows 7 64-bit computer. That was before I realized Nebula doesn't offer an RTAS version for the PC!

Any chance an RTAS or AAX version will be developed in the future?
LOL. Why did you do that?? I can think of that money being spent very differently on DAW related things.... oops, I'm stepping way out of line. Sorry! :shock:
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

mr.tele
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:51 am

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by mr.tele » Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:57 am

They do make VST To RTAS wrappers/adapters. I'm not sure which is the best, or how efficient they are, since I don't use Pro Tools. The best known is probably FXpansion. Maybe someone with experience can chime in?
I think it's also possible to use another DAW, such as Reaper, as a front end to Pro Tools through Rewire.

richie43
Expert
Expert
Posts: 5041
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by richie43 » Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:20 am

mr.tele wrote:I think it's also possible to use another DAW, such as Reaper.....
My edit says it all. LOL. Good luck mate!
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/

jonwb
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:09 am

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by jonwb » Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:23 pm

Didn't care for Reaper... Everybody around me (LA) uses Pro Tools. Hard to exchange Sonar files in writing sessions. Only cost $277... student eligible. May have made a mistake but oh well :roll:

marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by marcpl » Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:04 pm

hi jon. i use nebula 3 pro in PT10/win7 64 via fxpansion's vst2rtas wrapper and it works great.
no problems at all.

we'll see what happens when avid drops rtas with PT11 and goes strictly aax. it may be the end of using nebula in protools.

regards,
marco

User avatar
rhythminmind
Member
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 10:12 pm
Location: New England Transplant to Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by rhythminmind » Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:16 pm

fxpansion said VST2AAX is in the works.. Looking forward to that.
"Any experiment of interest in life will be carried out at your own expense." http://rhythminmind.net - http://signaltonoize.com - http://popsound.com

User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2858
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires
Contact:

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by enriquesilveti » Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:19 am

rhythminmind wrote:fxpansion said VST2AAX is in the works.. Looking forward to that.
+100!
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SSD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SSD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U16 | VM Win10 CU | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX6 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5

marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by marcpl » Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:55 pm

rhythminmind wrote:fxpansion said VST2AAX is in the works.. Looking forward to that.
that's true and i'm looking forward to it also. but it's a crap shoot with VSTs. if the aax wrapper doesn't work well with nebula there's no plan b. that's what i'm worried about.

i have a bunch of VSTs that DON'T work with the rtas wrapper. thankfully nebula works great.

keeping my fingers crossed.

jonwb
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:09 am

Re: New Pro Tools 10 user... RTAS Nebula version?

Post by jonwb » Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:19 am

Thanks for the info on the wrapper marcpl.

Post Reply