Has Nebula become heavier lately?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support
Post Reply
Anthony
User Level I
User Level I
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:52 am
Location: sw Finland

Has Nebula become heavier lately?

Post by Anthony » Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:36 am

I'm using Nebula 1.3.464 and it's coming almost unusable to me. Nowadays I can load perhaps 3 - 4 instances, then CPU cancels our agreement to do something "useful" (well it's my music). ;-)
Projects are usually 24 (32) bit/96 kHz (~ always).

Or is it because of ever growing 3rd party libraries (MLC,...)?

Or just my imagination...

Anyway it's very difficult to me to work otherwise; using NrGui without hearing the effects when they should be heard. Could Nebula code be tighter?

Also, it would be nice if Giancarlo & co could update regularly 'Nebula Updates Announcements' http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic - because I like to know...

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10931
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Has Nebula become heavier lately?

Post by giancarlo » Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:35 am

no, cpu requirements are more or less the same. Anyway libraries released by 3rd party developers are heavier. Please note that an 800 eur notebook bought in november can handle easily 20-30 instances of new alexb libraries (44100 Hz).

lordnielson
Member
Member
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Has Nebula become heavier lately?

Post by lordnielson » Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:18 pm

On Osx, using the latest browser version, I found it to be less memory heavy than usual.

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10931
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Has Nebula become heavier lately?

Post by giancarlo » Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:22 pm

yes it is. And I improved it further. Wait for next version. I fixed a couple of crash bugs too.

mathias
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2498
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Has Nebula become heavier lately?

Post by mathias » Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:50 pm

Anthony wrote:I'm using Nebula 1.3.464 and it's coming almost unusable to me. Nowadays I can load perhaps 3 - 4 instances, then CPU cancels our agreement to do something "useful" (well it's my music). ;-)
Projects are usually 24 (32) bit/96 kHz (~ always).

Or is it because of ever growing 3rd party libraries (MLC,...)?

Or just my imagination..
i don't work at 96 khz, because of what you describe as "Heavy". you can try to lower the amount of kernels the program uses, to make it lighter. most of the third party programs have light versions.
mathias
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox/x3, tracktion6/7, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6/7(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB

User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada
Contact:

Re: Has Nebula become heavier lately?

Post by jelmet » Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:49 am

giancarlo wrote:yes it is. And I improved it further. Wait for next version. I fixed a couple of crash bugs too.
Giancarlo, my Q6600 (4x2.4) with 4Gb RAM running Macos 10.6.1 can only run 10 Modern Logic Consoles at 44.1 within Reaper.

What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 10931
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Has Nebula become heavier lately?

Post by giancarlo » Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:09 am

it's caused maybe by ram usage. Resource saving will be solved by future updates. Local server version could help you anyway in order to use all ram available.

Post Reply